Skip to main content

Dr. Debra-Meghan Sanft

Dr. Debra-Meghan Sanft

Dr. Debra-Meghan Sanft, MD, FRCSC

Educational Background

Dr. Sanft earned both a bachelor of science degree in kinesiology as well as her medical degree at McGill University. She then went on to complete a residency in ophthalmology there.

Professional Experience

Dr. Sanft practices comprehensive ophthalmology, which includes diagnosing and treating a variety of ocular illnesses, such as dry eyes, glaucoma, as well as dry and wet macular degeneration (including intravitreal injections). Moreover, she performs annual exams to screen for thyroid-related eye diseases, various medication toxicities, and diabetes. She is also experienced in cataract surgery, including those using premium intraocular lenses.

In addition to her work with Eye Health MD, Dr. Sanft is currently an ophthalmologist at McGill University’s Health Centre (MUHC). She is one of only a handful of physicians at MUHC who does medical examining.

Accomplishments and Awards

Dr. Sanft’s work has been recognized by a variety of prestigious awards throughout the years. She was awarded the Sean Murphy Award for excellence in research by McGill University’s Department of Ophthalmology as well as the Goodwin Prize in Forensic Medicine by McGill’s Medical School. Dr. Sanft also earned the Leonard Ellen Ocular Pathology Award for her work at McGill University’s Health Centre.

As an accomplished researcher, she’s had a number of papers published in academic journals, including but not limited to Ophthalmology, Cornea, the American Journal of Ophthalmology, the Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology, and the Journal of Ophthalmic Research.

Dr. Sanft has presented her research at national and international ophthalmology conferences. Examples of these include the Canadian Ophthalmology Society (COS), the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO), and the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO).

Associations and Professional Memberships

  • Quebec College of Physicians (CMQ)
  • Canadian Ophthalmological Society (COS)
  • Federation of Medical Specialists of Quebec (FMSQ)
  • Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (FRCSC)